1. I’m No Robot
  2. I’m No Robot (Dub)
  3. Babylon The Bandit
  4. Babylon The Bandit (Dub)
  5. Fly Me To The Moon
  6. Fly Me To The Moon (Dub)
  7. Jah Jah See Dem A Come
  8. Jah Jah See Dem A Come (Dub)
  9. Hypocrite
  10. Hypocrite (Dub)
  11. Malcom X
  12. Malcom X (Dub)
  13. I Know feat. Mackeehan, Voicemail & Cedric Myton from The Congos
  14. I Know (Dub)
  15. In My Space (Dub – Lexicon Mix) feat.Mackeehan & Cedric Myton from The Congos


DATE : June 22, 2019
FORMAT : LP plus CD / CD / Digital



June 20, 2019


Dubblestandart presents with the deepest respect to the originators a limited selection of reworks of reggae classics, focusing on works that have been pivotal for the inspiration of Dubblestandart’s bandleader and bass player Paul Zasky since day one, when forming the band. Today considered as “Classic Reggae”, so much remains unchallenged, this little island called Jamaica has provided in content & creation, especially Roots Reggae of the late 60s/70s & 80s. Not to speak of the political actuality of many songs, who respond to today’s world of unrest as if they were written yesterday, coming straight from the heart of all those originators we admire and love so much!

Reggae Classics features Paul Zasky on vocals and guest appearances of Cedric Myton from the Congos, Voicemail and singer/ writer Mackehaan (who worked with Busy Signal, Jah Cure a.o.), plus some of the finest of Jamaica’s musicians. Brought together by long-time collaborator and producer Devon D, who worked with Gregory Isaac, Dennis Brown, Mr.Vegas, Dillinger, General Trees, Tyron Taylor and many more on more than 200 productions since the early 80’s.

All instrumentals for this album were recorded at the legendary Anchor Studios in Kingston Jamaica. Members of the Firehouse crew Wrong Move, Georg Miller, plus mighty Bongo Herman and Danny Axeman laid the ground work for adaptions of Reggae Classics from the Twinkle Brothers, Steelpulse, Burning Spear, Dennis Brown or Matumbi. Then dubbed by Robbie Ost at GoEast Studios Vienna on original Analog equipment, guaranteeing the highest mixing standards.

Songs like I’m No Robot, Babylon The Bandit or Hypocrite were not just randomly chosen, but with the intend to their contemporary accuracy, given the state of mind of today’s world on the brink to the digital age. Songs written during the 80’s, still perfectly criticizing todays political leaderships, torn between building a sustainable global community and alt-right nationalism.

This album shall uplift all of us! The vinyl DUB versions are exclusiv for that format and not on the CD…!

Video hier ansehen: