Sisters – Gender Riot EP


  1. Gender Riots (Single Version)
  2. Gender Riots (Solaplexus Remix)
  3. Gender Riots (Noah Sow’s Punk-Karaoke Remix)
  4. Gender Riots (Instrumental)


DATE : June 13, 2008
CATALOGUE : Echo Beach



June 13, 2008


The Sam Ragga Band was founded in 1996 by Jan Eißfeldt (aka Jan Delay) and musicians from the Absolute Beginner backing band; they played their first concert on Christmas Eve 1996 in Hamburg’s “Molotow” club. In 2000 the Sam Ragga Band played some of the riddims on the legendary Jan Delay album “Searching For The Jan Souls Rebels” and Jan and the band subsequently set off on their “60 Herz Tour”. After the tour, during which they met London singer Seanie T., the band decided to produce their own album.

In 2002, the Sam Ragga Band recorded their first album at the Loktown Studio in Hamburg with vocals by Seanie T., Jan Delay, Sammy Deluxe, Flowin`Immo, Onejiru and Jessica McIntyre. Titled “Loktown Hi-Life” it was released in 2003 on Jan Delay’s label Eimsbush Records/ Warner Brothers. The band play selected gigs with a live formation that included vocalists Seanie T. from London (renowned for his work with Roots Manuva and Masta Ace), Jessica McIntyre and Esther Cowens. The first single off the album was “Die Welt steht still” feat. Jan Delay.

In 2005, WEA released the second album “Sound of Sam Ragga”. Seanie T., Esther Cowens and Jessica McIntyre sang, Patrice and Nena guested on two songs. In 2006 the third album, Situations, was released on the band’s own SAFA Records label. Vocalists were Seanie T. and Simone Watson. The Sam Ragga Band play a fascinating and beguiling mix of reggae with a generous smattering of pop and soul. Their spectrum ranges from roots reggae with German lyrics to dancehall-style songs sung in English. One of the band’s signature features has been their use of a wide range of guest vocalists, whose different lyrical styles give the Sam Ragga Band’s their uniquely versatile, classy sound.